PDA

View Full Version : Programming Around Physical Stressful Occupation

RoyMcLean
07-07-2014, 04:05 PM
Anyone any advice for training around a very physically demanding job?

I'm a dairy farmer and although the physical stress is not constantly very high it can often leave me more physically beat up and tired than the training.

Using RTS auto-regulation techniques (which are a great step forward) I have found my strength levels are fluctuating by 25%.

I'm 42 which probably doesn't help, but in a quiet week I've no trouble with the 4 day split in the intermediate program.

However I find when I miss a session or 2 due to farming, the next session is usually terrible.

I can't decide if this is due to de-training or starting back to soon when I haven't recovered from the occupational stress.

My best comp total is 630kg (raw) to give you an idea of my strength (or weakness) level.

Any advice on how I can best cope with my enforced inconsistency and especially training frequency?

GymRat
07-07-2014, 06:44 PM
Anyone any advice for training around a very physically demanding job?

I'm a dairy farmer and although the physical stress is not constantly very high it can often leave me more physically beat up and tired than the training.

Using RTS auto-regulation techniques (which are a great step forward) I have found my strength levels are fluctuating by 25%.

I'm 42 which probably doesn't help, but in a quiet week I've no trouble with the 4 day split in the intermediate program.

However I find when I miss a session or 2 due to farming, the next session is usually terrible.

I can't decide if this is due to de-training or starting back to soon when I haven't recovered from the occupational stress.

My best comp total is 630kg (raw) to give you an idea of my strength (or weakness) level.

Any advice on how I can best cope with my enforced inconsistency and especially training frequency?