PDA

View Full Version : Former american footballplayer now wanna put all his effort into powerlifting

ErikSwe85
12-23-2014, 05:36 AM
Hello!

My background:
29 years old. I have been playing american football for the last 12-13 years (linebacker and safety). Pretty athletic (can jump high, run fast, decent lifter (if you compare to other american footballplayers here in Sweden).

I have decided that I want to put all my effort into powerlifting (I am getting too old for football I guess). I've been on many training programs before - and I have combined them with a lot of sprints, jumps, quick foot ladder (agility), you know the drills (football).

I have been constructing my own program. It's a mix with Jim Wendlers 5/3/1 and RTS. Here it is. Please leave me comments and thoughts!

4 day full body template:

Monday:
Lowbar Squat 5/3/1 + dropsets 3-5 sets
Pausbench 5/3/1 + dropsets 3-5 sets
Dumbel Rows 5x8-20 (Repetiton Effort Method)
Core Training

Tuesday:
Front Squats 5/3/1 + dropsets 3-5 set
Military Press 5x5
Chins with weight 5x5-10
Biceps 4x8-20 (Repetition Effort Method)

Wednesday:
Deadlifts 5/3/1 + dropsets 3-5 set
Highbar Pause Squats 5x3-4
Dips 5x10-15 with weight
Core Training

Thursday:
No lifting - just explosive jumps, sprints and sled drags

Saturday:
Highbar squat 5x5
Deficit Deadlifts or Pause Deadlifts 5x3-5
Close grip bench 3x5
Inverted Row 3x10-20

So what do you think?

Tuscherer - if you read this - would you do any changes or is it something that you think is really really bad about the program?

Dan Lee
12-23-2014, 08:02 AM
Hey dude, I'm not sure what part of this is RTS. I was expecting RPE's and FP%s.

I'll mention a few things like overall design and your loading protocol, then movement selection.

1.)
We usually specify RPE's and Fatigue percents so we can understand the training effect we're aiming for.
Without that, I don't know what loads you plan to do.
If you say 5x5 we don't know if it's at 70% or 85%.