PDA

View Full Version : 3-Day Per Week Templates and Questions

RTSAdmin
02-15-2013, 01:04 PM
BAX wrote:
I am new to RTS and was look for some feedback on templates and answers to a couple of questions. Currently I am training on a 4-Day/Week template, but know that I will need to utilize a 3-day template at times. I am a raw powerlifter and have good experience with RPEs, but not with RTS style templates.

Here goes:

Low Frequency

Day 1

Primary Squat

Secondary Deadlift

Squat Supplement

Abs

Day 2

Primary Bench Main

Primary Bench Assist

Secondary Bench Supplement

Lats

Day 3

Primary Deadlift

Secondary Squat Main

Deadlift Supplement

Primary Bench Supplement

Abs

The only thing I am really concerned with here is the bench press as this is a “low frequency” template. I am just not sure if I have enough or too much benching.

High Frequency

Day 1

Primary Squat

Secondary Bench Main

Secondary Deadlift

Lats

Abs

Day 2

Primary Bench

Secondary Squat

Primary Bench Supplement

Lats

Day 3

Primary Deadlift

Primary Bench Assist

Deadlift or Squat Supplement

Secondary Bench Assistance or Secondary Bench Supplement

Abs

Also, I am curious on how long most people use exercises before they switch things up. Should you go through a developmental block of 2-3 weeks and a specialization block of 2-3 weeks before switching or do it sooner? I know that 6-8 weeks out from a contest I will concentrate on my raw main lifts and lifts very similar to the main raw lifts, but am curious how often I should rotate exercises farther out from a contest.

Sorry for the long post. Any advice is appreciated. BAX

RTSAdmin
02-15-2013, 01:04 PM
Mike Tuchscherer wrote:
Hi BAX,

There was a thread about 3 day per week training in the past. Google might be able to turn something up.

Idea for you on the low frequency side...
Why not make an "A" template that is Lower Upper Lower and a "B" template that is Upper Lower Upper? Then you could alternate the two templates each week.