PDA

View Full Version : RTS style upper lower split - please shoot

Kruider
05-12-2015, 06:16 AM
I've been lifting according to the RTS principles for over 1,5 years where each training day consists of at least 1 upper and 1 lower body exercise. Because my recovery (age, work, kids) is not getting any better (43 yrs), I'm thinking of switching to a personalized upper/lower version of RTS as listed in the manual.

I'm a raw lifter, deadlift sumo and my sticking points are
- Weak from the floor (deadlift)
- Bench: 2 to 3 inches from the chest
- Squat: slighty above parallel

If possible I'd like to incorporate lower and somewhat higher (5-8) rep work for squats and bench in 1 training week.

My initial set-up
Day 1
Raw Squat (2-5 reps)
Deficit Deadlift conventional
Front Squats /SSB Squats (5-8 reps)

Day 2
Benchpress main
Paused Benchpress
Military press
Chins

Day 3
Sumo Deadlifts
Pause Squats
Snatch Grip RDL

Day 4
Slingshot (full boar) t&g for higher reps
Close Grip Floor Press
Rows (T-Bar / Pendlay)

I'll progress by mainly doing 3 week volume and 2 to 3 week intensity blocks.

Btw, I train at home.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

chris_ottawa
05-12-2015, 03:38 PM
A couple of things:

-Why is paused bench press after bench press? The comp. lifts should be prioritized.
-Why not do t&g bench before slingshot bench? By the way, I don't think the pause makes any difference at all with the slingshot.
-Why only 2 pressing exercises on day 4?

Since you are a raw lifter, the standard template for upper body days should look more like this: (you have the right idea for lower body)

Day1

Comp. bench
Bottom end emphasis (long pause, spoto press, etc)
Shoulder emphasis (overhead/incline press)

Day 2

t&g bench
Lockout emphasis (slingshot, board/pin press, floor press)
Tricep emphasis (any close grip variation, JM press if you're into that)

You could also do rows/chin ups and any other GPP work (abs, conditioning) on an off day.