PDA

View Full Version : Crossfit Template

brudman
05-01-2013, 02:48 PM
I have been following some CrossFit programming (Outlaw, if you've ever head of it) for 6 weeks. I have enjoyed it, set some PR's, and conditioning/work capacity has improved dramatically for such a short period. However I've found that in some areas my skills are strong (i.e.: squats, pressing, pullups), but in others, I am a mere novice (C&J, snatch, Muscle Ups, Hand Stand Pushups). This has caused me to scale many of the workouts in such ways that the training effect has been good for conditioning, but I am not developing the weak areas as quickly as I would like.

I have been thinking about a template where I might be able to continuing progressing in strong areas, while catching up in weak ones. I have also attached an excel sheet totaling weekly fatigue. I am a little unsure as to how I should treat conditioning. Perhaps that's where TRAC might come in handy.

I am very open to any input.

Note: Regardless of fatigue %, 10 minute fatigue stops will be applied so as to reduce rest periods.

Day 1
High Bar Back Squat x5@9-10, 5%
Bench x5@9-10, 5%
Clean x3@9-10, 5%
Conditioning – 8-12 Minutes

Day 2
Drop Snatch – x5@9-10, 0%
Snatch – x2@8-9, 5%
Hand Stand Push Ups - x__@9, 5%
Conditioning – 12-20 Minutes

Day 3
Front Squat, x5@8-9, 5%
Push Press, x5@9-10, 0%
Deadlift, x5@9-10, 0%

Day 4 – Rest

Day 5
HBBS x3@9-10, 0%
Bench x3@9-10, 0%
Clean x1@9-10, 0%

Day 6
Snatch x1@9-10

Day 7 – Rest

Conditioning Exercises
Tier 1 - Often Included
- Pull Ups (Both Strict & Kipping)
- Muscle Ups
- Toes to Bar
- Hand Stand Push Ups
- Running

Tier 2 - Sometimes Included
- Thrusters
- Ring Dips
- One Legged Squats
- Power Cleans
- Power Snatches
- Burpees

Tier 3 - Sometimes Included, less often than Tier 2
- The rest of the world of exercises used in CF

Mike Tuchscherer
05-03-2013, 03:31 AM
Interesting. After a cursory look, I think the template is fine, but the key for you is progression.