• Interview with Blaine Sumner

Hi Blaine! Thanks for doing this interview with me. Could you tell us a bit about yourself?
      Thanks for the opportunity, Mike! My name is Blaine Sumner and I originally hail from the mountains of Conifer, CO. I currently reside in Gillette, WY where I work as a Petroleum Engineer for an Oil and Gas Exploration company (Devon Energy). I played football, wrestling, and lacrosse since I was very young and started lifting weights in high school for football. I was a tall, skinny kid as a freshman – 6’0” 145 lbs. I really enjoyed the lifting for football and the results you could get from hard work, so my senior year I wanted to prepare for college football by getting bigger and stronger. I ended up graduating high school at 6’2” 250 lbs. When looking for somebody to help get me stronger, I found Rocky Mountain Lifting Club in Aurora, CO. The gym is owned and ran by Dan and Jen Gaudreau. It was here I really learned about proper lifting technique, nutrition, rest, and recovery. Dan and Jen are still my powerlifting support crew with my parents. I then attended the Colorado School of Mines in Golden, CO where I played football and graduated with my Bachelor’s in Petroleum Engineering. I began work on my Master’s in Engineering and Technology Management. Now I spend most of my time working, lifting, and fishing.

Blaine, thanks for doing this interview! You’ve been on quite the competitive hot streak lately with some big wins. For those who don’t know what you’ve been up to, can you give us the highlights from your recent contests?
      The last two contests I competed in was the IPF Raw World Cup on June 17th in Stockholm followed by the USAPL Men’s Nationals (Geared) the next weekend on June 24th. I won the Raw World Cup going 827/474/705. I also won the Men’s Nationals going 1,003/689/705 and taking home the Best Lifter award. Both contests I was SHW (264+ lbs).