• My Deadlift Journey: 315lbs to 782lbs pt1

by Jeremy Hartman

I first was introduced to the deadlift when I was a sophomore in high school. My high school wrestling coach showed me a conventional way to deadlift and told me not to go above 185lbs, so I did as was told and practiced deadlifting. I met a local gym owner who suggested I try deadlifting to help strengthen my body for wrestling and trained with him that summer. He asked to see me deadlift so I put on 185lbs. and did it nice and easy in a very controlled manner. The gym owner introduced me to sumo style deadlifting and said it would be more beneficial for wrestling as it was going to really strengthen my hips with the wide stance. I struggled lifting 250lbs, but thought it was extremely heavy weight for only weighing 135lbs. The gym owner got in my face and asked what the greatest trophy in high school wrestling was, I immediately responded by saying “being a state champ”. He then said, “I want you to quit doing what you have done all your previous sets and get in there and go after 315 like a state champ would…here’s a belt, throw it on tight and go in there and show me how a state champ would pull it.” I got so jacked up for the first time in my life, the weight flew up and I almost lost balance at the top. The owner came over and said, now that is how you deadlift! From that moment on, I knew how important the mental aspect was to deadlifting. The old ‘attitude is everything’ poster that I always saw in my school finally made sense.